2021.04.03: Culture is just one giant advertisement for itself. I say block that shit. 2021.03.07: The internet is absolutely crushing me. One cannot be connected to everything without losing one's individuality to some degree, and if the thing one is connected to is the Borg, well... 2020.12.24: THE WORLD WILL BE TLÖN. THE WORLD IS TLÖN. 2020.10.31: In a world in which everything is possible, we must define our culture by the things we *won't* do. 2020.10.26: HT: "community" usually means "demographic" (in a political context) or "unpaid labor" (in the tech world). Update your mental translation tables. 2020.10.09: Misery is itself a form of rebellion. The Borg of our universe want you to be content and complacent; merely feeling bad subverts their aims and wrests control from them. 2020.09.14: Proverb I'll use in a conlang someday: "a wise man covers the soup before he shaves his beard." 2020.08.22: No perfectly general system is perfect 2020.08.19: TIL: the word "twitterati" predates Twitter: https://arkaia.gitlab.io/www.langmaker.com/db/eng_twitterati.htm 2020.08.19: I've been feeling a lot of cognitive dissonance recently between the name of my site and the fact that it is not (primarily) LotR-focused. At the same time, I worry that the "personal webpage" aspects of it are hampered by my attempts to make the styling and structure LotR-compatible. It's possible that it will eventually split into two separate sites. At the very least, another redesign may be in the works... 2020.08.16: It seems like a lot of media that aspires to be revolutionary, progressive, or countercultural is actually self-defeating, in the sense that if the revolution succeeds it will become irrelevant. I want to hear music from *after* the revolution. Once we rule the world, what will we create? 2020.08.15: The tighter you grip, the less you grasp. 2020.08.02: Word of the day: Gesamtbedeutung. 2020.07.25: People get excited by novelty. It's worth asking: "what will life be like once {whatever new thing} is so commonplace it's boring and banal?" If it would be worse, then maybe don't make that thing. 2020.07.21: "The valiant only taste of death but once" is Shakespeare's more eloquent way of saying "yolo" 2020.07.19: I just spent 4 dollars on a leek, because a recipe said I needed a leek. I don't even know what nutritional value leeks have, if any. I could have had some nice peaches instead, or beans for days. But instead I have a leek. I'll just have to deal. 2020.07.19: I think I'm going to try solving the aforementioned difficulty with the music page by writing a bit more about my thoughts on each song. Stay tuned... 2020.07.14: Choosing songs for the music page is so hard. Often it's not the song itself, but the feeling it leaves with me dhours or days later, that is really deep, that really matters. 2020.07.11: Idiom I might use in a conlang someday: "shower of hands" = "applause" 2020.07.11: What if there are no opinions, just facts contextualized by other facts? 2020.07.08: Webrings, linklists, and search engines: all signs that the "organic" web of woven-spreading free-associative hypertext is still not connected enough to meet people's needs for information or desire for serendipity. What would a sufficiently-connected web look like? 2020.07.07: god is there anything tastier than a fried shallot, i do not think so 2020.07.07: "Because it's never been done before" is not a good reason to do something. Neither is "because this is the way we've always done it". 2020.07.07: Yesterday was the least dissociated I've felt in months- - years maybe. I'm not sure if that was an abnormally heighted state of awareness or if the way I am normally is abnormal... 2020.07.06: Quote from a website: "In case of sale of your personal information, you may opt out by clicking 'do not sell my personal information'". 2020.07.06: Nothing's more pathetic than a grown-ass senior executive (and a native English speaker) trying to form a grammatical sentence in Corporate American Business Jargon and failing. Corpspeak is a cancer. 2020.07.06: Hello, world!